Teacher Leadership Institute 

The Teacher Leadership Institute is a national program that readies classroom teachers for leadership roles.

The TLI is a partnership among the MTA and the NEA. Three hundred participants from across the country hone their expertise and engage in leadership work in schools, state houses and associations. TLI makes leadership accessible to educators with busy schedules as learning takes place primarily through webinars and video conferences, with much of the work self-paced.

2022 Teacher Leadership Institute

Apply Now
About TLI

TLI Annual Meeting

Get the "who, what, where, when, how and why" about the institute.


Capstone Projects

Push-card for MTA BOD representing the Springfield Teachers Association with a membership of 2,000 educators.

Check out the work of our Teacher Leadership Institute fellows. 

View Projects
Success Stories

Read the work of alumni Nancy Barile & others.

Learn More

Empowering Teachers for Student Success

Share Video

Dig Deeper
Background on the Teacher Leadership Institute

A deeper look at the institute, the curriculum and the work of program participants.

Learn More



Read what our fellows have to say about the Teacher Leadership Institute.

Learn More

2021 Teacher Leadership Institute Fellows

  • Christopher Alba – Revere
  • Rachel Athens – Lexington
  • Elizabeth Beals – Northeast Metro Tech. Reg.
  • Amanda Crosby – Whittier Reg Voc. Tech. HS
  • Cedric Allen Cunningham – Springfield
  • Damian DeMarco – Revere
  • Kayla Dever – Everett
  • Caroline DiCicco – Everett
  • Suzette DiTonno – Haverhill
  • Emily Donahue – Acton Boxborough Reg.
  • Kelly Giusti – Sudbury
  • Christine Goonan – Hampden Wilbraham Reg.
  • Ashley Gosselin – Weymouth
  • Brittany Hardiman – Medfield
  • Carolyn Imperato – Acton-Boxborough Reg
  • Melissa Jameson – Northborough
  • Ruth Kim – Cambridge
  • Avon Lewis – Lexington
  • Kevin Lynch – Framingham
  • Jennifer MacMurray – Mansfield
  • Louise Mahoney – New Bedford
  • Maria Maloney – Monson
  • Mary Miles – Marblehead
  • Rachael Morris – Concord
  • Sara Nottingham – New Bedford
  • Allan Peterson – Nauset
  • Amanda Scungio – Springfield
  • Alicia Serafin – Wilmington
  • Kimberly Silvrants – Haverhill
  • Alissa Smith – Springfield
  • Christina Smith – Northborough Southborough Reg
  • Jina Spinella – Stoneham
  • Shannon Tahir – Springfield
  • Karen Tofteroo – Sandwich
  • Amanda Tumbleson – Medfield
  • Nikki Yuskowski – Concord Carlisle
  • Carin Zinter – Holyoke Community