Educator Recognition Programs

We know how hard MTA member-educators work to make a difference in the lives of their students. That’s why we want to call attention to the various educator recognition programs hosted by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. Each year, DESE uses these programs to honor exemplary Massachusetts public school educators -- and provide opportunities for educators to give feedback on education initiatives.

Massachusetts Teacher of the Year

History Teacher of the Year Program

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

George Washington Teachers’ Institute

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

Educator Effectiveness Teacher Cabinet

Other Educator Recognition programs

National Council for Social Studies Outstanding Teacher of the Year Awards"

The NCSS Teacher of the Year Awards recognize exceptional classroom social studies teachers for grades K-6, 5-8, and 7-12 who teach social studies regularly and systematically in elementary school settings, and at least half-time in middle or junior high and high school settings.