MTA AWARDS



MTA FRIEND OF LABOR AWARD

Shawn Fain

is the president of the UAW, who led the union in 2023 through concurrent strikes of the Detroit Three automakers at locations throughout the United States.



MASSACHUSETTS
TEACHER OF THE YEAR

De'Shawn C.
Washington is a member of the Lexington Education
Association and a graduate of
UMass Boston with a bachelor's degree in accounting and master's degrees in special education and elementary education.



MTA PRESIDENT'S AWARD

Jane McAlevey

is a labor organizer and senior fellow at the University of California at Berkeley's Labor Center, as well as the strike correspondent for The Nation.



MTA EDUCATION SUPPORT PROFESSIONAL (ESP) OF THE YEAR

Karen Torres is a 17-year Instructional Assistant who is a member of the Andover Education Association. She works at Bancroft Elementary School.



MTA FRIEND OF EDUCATION AWARD

Citizens for Public

Schools is a nonprofit that promotes and protects public schools and opposes political and social initiatives that seek to endanger public education. Its recent efforts include engaging with the MTA on a ballot initiative and legislative effort to replace the MCAS-based high school graduation test.

The Board of Directors of MTA Benefits recognized and presented Karen Torres, MTA ESP of the Year, with a \$500 check at the 2024 ESP Conference on Friday, April 5th.