Nominations sought for MTA Human & Civil Rights Awards

To be Presented at the Human and Civil Rights Banquet
June 14, 2013
Sheraton Framingham Hotel

There are two awards categories:

Louise Gaskins Lifetime Civil Rights Award — This award is named for Louise Gaskins, a pioneer for involvement of women and people of color in education, the Massachusetts Teachers Association and the National Education Association. Nominees for this award should embody the qualities of humility, leadership and tenacity that Louise Gaskins has brought wherever she has served. Other considerations will be for nominees who demonstrate leadership in:

  • Promoting equal opportunity for women and people of color.
  • Improving the economic and occupational status of those traditionally excluded.
  • Promoting policy designed to eliminate racism and sexism in society.

Kathleen Roberts Creative Leadership Award — This award is named for Kathleen Roberts, a leader whose extraordinary commitment to service has made her a tireless advocate for public education, communities and the profession of educators. Nominees for this award should exemplify the volunteerism and leadership that characterizes Kay Roberts’selfless contributions through political action, community organizing, and mentoring. Special
consideration will be given to nominees who:

  • Demonstrate creativity in improving conditions and opportunities for particular individuals and/or groups.
  • Promote appreciation of diversity.
  • Serve their community in volunteer roles.

Who is eligible for an award?

Nominees may be individuals (students, educators, administrators, public or community officials, parents), school associations, organizations, or agencies working in the area of human and/or civil rights.

Nominees are not required to be MTA members unless they are eligible for membership.

When are applications due?

Nomination materials must be received no later than March 29, 2013.

Awards will be presented at the MTA Human and Civil Rights Banquet on June 14, 2013.

Nomination Form

Past Human & Civil Rights Awards Winners