MTA Resolutions Committee now accepting proposals

Proposed revisions to MTA resolutions are now being accepted.

Resolutions are the organization’s statements of principle on issues relating to members, public education, the welfare of students and human and civil rights. A proposal for a new resolution or revision of an existing one may be submitted by any member. The initial deadline for submissions to the Resolutions Committee is Jan. 8. Proposed resolutions may also be submitted by the end of business on Friday, May 7, at the Annual Meeting of Delegates.

The committee may also propose resolutions. All resolutions submitted are considered by the Resolutions Committee, and those submitted by the January deadline are also brought before the Board of Directors. To become the official position of the MTA, a resolution must be adopted by the delegates at the Annual Meeting.

The 2009-2010 committee members are:

Chairwoman Diana Marcus, Burlington
Teresa Barut, Hampshire Regional
Kathleen Comer, Leicester
Ted Kempinski, Haverhill
Sandra Moriarty, Somerville
Dorothy Scally, Somerville

Laura Barrett is the staff consultant, and Janice Morrissey is the staff assistant.

2009-2010 Resolutions of the MTA