Educator Recognition Programs

We know how hard MTA member-educators work to make a difference in the lives of their students. That’s why we want to call attention to the various educator recognition programs hosted by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. Each year, DESE uses these programs to honor exemplary Massachusetts public school educators -- and provide opportunities for educators to give feedback on education initiatives.

Massachusetts Teacher of the Year

  • Open to public school educators in every grade level and subject.
  • Additional information available here or on the DESE website.
  • Massachusetts Teacher of the Year nomination form.

History Teacher of the Year Program

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

  • Open to all K-6 math and science teachers. (The competition alternates year by year between teachers of grades K-6 and teachers of grades 7-12.)
  • Additional information and applications available on the DESE website and on the PAEMST site.

George Washington Teachers’ Institute

  • Open to licensed public and non-public Massachusetts teachers in any subject area teaching in grades 3-12.
  • Institute runs from July 26-Aug. 1, 2014.
  • Additional information available on the DESE website.

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

  • The National Board is an independent organization formed to advance the quality of teaching and learning by developing professional standards for accomplished teaching, creating a voluntary system to certify teachers who meet those standards and integrating Board-certified teachers into educational reform efforts.
  • More information about National Board certification is available on DESE’s site and from the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards.

Educator Effectiveness Teacher Cabinet

  • New pilot program being launched by the state Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.
  • Educator Effectiveness Teacher Cabinet comprising teachers from across MA who will provide thoughtful feedback and suggestions about educator effectiveness initiatives.  

Other Educator Recognition programs

National Council for Social Studies Outstanding Teacher of the Year Awards"

National Council for Social Studies Outstanding Teacher of the Year Awards

The NCSS Teacher of the Year Awards recognize exceptional classroom social studies teachers for grades K-6, 5-8, and 7-12 who teach social studies regularly and systematically in elementary school settings, and at least half-time in middle or junior high and high school settings.