MTA ESP Award - Honoring Education Support Professionals

Education Support Professionals have a variety of roles in our schools, colleges and universities. ESPs are maintenance, transportation and food service workers. They are custodians, paraprofessionals, classroom aides, secretaries, clerks and assistants. They are trades and craftspeople, technical and health services staff. They keep our students healthy, safe, engaged, supported and challenged so that they will be ready to learn.

Each year, the MTA ESP Committee honors an exceptional MTA member with the ESP of the Year. Nominators are asked to address the nominee's qualifications in the following areas:

  • Professional Practice
  • Advocacy and Association Involvement
  • Community Engagement
  • Enhancement of the ESP Image
  • Personal Achievement

Thank you to all who submitted applicants for ESP of the Year. The nomination period is now closed.

The ESP of the Year award is presented annually in the spring at the MTA ESP Conference.


MTA ESPs of the Year


Nancy Burke

Haverhill Education Association


Saul Ramos

Educational Association of Worcester


Michelle Elwell

Rockport Educational Support Staff Association


Lois Powers

Classified Staff Union, UMass Boston


Diane Barnum

Framingham Teachers Association


Lorraine Niccoli

Brockton Paraprofessionals Association


Jean Fay

Amherst-Pelham Education Association


Anita Thompson

Classified Staff Union, UMass Boston

Related Resources