New Member Committee

New Member Committee Avatar
New Members 2015

The MTA New Members, Class of 2014.

The New Member Committee, formerly the New Teacher Committee, created by the MTA Board of Directors in October of 1997, is charged with creating an environment in which the Association will provide new members with orientation and information to assist them in becoming acclimated to their work and association environment.

The New Member Committee develops special resource materials including A Road Map for Beginning Teachers, an guide for new educators, and sponsors Just for New Teachers, an annual conference for early career and future educators. The committee also works closely with the MTA's Teaching and Professional Learning Division to put on New Member Program at the MTA Summer Conference.

Chair: Laura Vago

Staff Consultants: Bob Duffy,, Elizabeth Tripathi,, Jeff Morassi,, and Dan Callahan,

Staff Assistant: Erin Tracy,

Related Resources