Amherst ELL teacher is Massachusetts Teacher of the Year

Amherst Regional Middle School teacher Floris Wilma Ortiz-Marrero was honored June 11 as the 2011 Massachusetts Teacher of the Year. Ortiz-Marrero, pictured below, is the first ELL teacher to win the state's teacher of the year award this decade, according to the DESE announcement.

Floris Wilma Ortiz-Marrero

Also recognized, Easthampton High School social studies teacher Kelley R. Brown, the state's 2010 Preserve America History Teacher of the Year.

Kelley R. Brown, Easthampton

"Teachers are our most valuable resource in preparing children for success," said Governor Patrick. "I congratulate Mrs. Ortiz and Ms. Brown on their accomplishment and extend our deepest gratitude to them and to their peers for their outstanding service to students across the Commonwealth."

The 2011 Teacher of the Year finalists were: Kelly E. Langan of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. School in Cambridge; Jenée Palmer Ramos of Brookline High School in Brookline; Jonathan M. Roy of Oak Hill Middle School in Newton; Benjamin G. McGraw of Oak Hill Middle School in Newton; and Rachel T. Stadelmann of Alden Elementary School in Duxbury.

Semifinalists were: Cheryl J. Christo of Arlington High School in Arlington; Shana A. Grogan of Brookside Elementary School in Milford; Anne Morrow Grosky of Ralph C. Mahar Regional High School in Orange; Maureen O. Parker of Cyril D. Locke Middle School in Billerica; and Joshua G. Rice II of Springfield Central High School in Springfield.