Two Massachusetts educators given the nation's highest teaching honors

Math teacher Patricia Juranovits, from C.D. Hunking Middle School in Haverhill, and science teacher Laurie McCabe, from Fannie E. Proctor School in Northborough, have been awarded the 2006 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, the nation’s highest honor for teaching in these fields.

Juranovits, who is a sixth grade teacher, and McCabe, a third grade teacher, are the only winners from Massachusetts, and two of 93 teachers nationwide to receive the prestigious award.

"I commend these teachers for the work they do every day in the classroom to lay the foundation for their students to go on to careers in the fields of math and science," Massachusetts Teachers Association President Anne Wass said. "Patricia Juranovits and Laurie McCabe come to school every day with new ideas about how to excite and engage the students they teach. They serve as role models to so many of us in the teaching profession."

Established by Congress in 1983, the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded to outstanding math and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions. The teachers are recognized for their contributions to teaching and learning and their ability to help students make progress in both subjects. The National Science Foundation selected the Massachusetts winners, one for math and one for science, from a list of eight finalists.

As awardees, they each receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation (NSF), the federal agency that administers the awards program on behalf of the White House, and an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, DC, for a week of celebratory events and professional development activities.